New Year New Approaches

Me and my boys with  Grandma in studio.

Me and my boys with Grandma in studio. Phase XF, IQ180, Schneider 40-80mm LS.

The New Year holiday is often a time of introspection and promises of resolutions for the near future. When in reality it is something that everyone should be doing throughout the year. I am constantly gauging for myself what works and what may be improved. 2015 was a very busy and good year, but also one filled with the stresses of how to handle and protect a loved one afflicted with dementia. It hasn’t been easy. But we’ve also been very fortunate to have the resources and discipline to do what is both best and necessary. We have moved my mom from the Bay area to Monterey, making it much easier to spend time with her. It was definitely the right decision and just in time for the new year. There won’t be broken commitments to the latest fad diet or unused gym memberships–that’s never been a problem for our family! 2016 will be a reaffirmation of family and the things that are important to me in life. Professionally, I have decided to remain focused on fine portraiture, commercial photography, and fine art printing for artists and photographers. I will no longer do corporate event work. I will limit the studio to one wedding per year (yup, only one).  And yes, that means taking more time to travel for landscape photography.  2016 is going to be a great year.  kmd.

2 Responses to “New Year New Approaches”

  1. Celeste Wahl Says:

    It will be a brilliant year, because you’ve made it so.

    • Congratulations and all the best in the new year Ken. These are/have been big decisions and you have, obviously, found answers that you feel best in your heart.

      Keep following your heart and you won’t go wrong. I hope you have continued success and happiness in the coming year and for many to come.

      P.S – I would say if you ever need someone to go on a landscape photo trip, give me a hollar, but there is no way on this green earth I could begin to keep up with you!

Leave a Reply

