Rocco Mediate Scores the Cover for Ambassador Magazine

Golf Pro Rocco Mediate. ©2015 Ken Doo. Phase DF, IQ180, Schneider 150 LS.

Golf Pro Rocco Mediate. ©2015 Ken Doo. Phase DF, IQ180, Schneider 150 LS.

I don’t golf.  Plain and simple, golf becomes a dangerous game when I get my hands on a set of clubs. But living on the central coast of California places me in the heart of a golfer’s paradise, and I have been fortunate to have been selected to photographer several golf professionals, including Tom Kite, Joe Ogilvie, and recently Rocco Mediate.  The National Italian American Federation retained to photograph Rocco Mediate at Pebble Beach for a small publication, Ambassador Magazine.  I photographed Rocco and his wife Jessica on the 18th hole at Pebble Beach.

What Drives Rocco? ©2015 Ken Doo. Phase DF, IQ180, SK 150 LS

What Drives Rocco? ©2015 Ken Doo. Phase DF, IQ180, SK 150 LS

I chose to photograph this portrait session using my a Phase 645DF and Phase One IQ180 medium format digital back, along with a single studio strobe. The 18th hole at Pebble Beach provided a beautiful backdrop for the session. Rocco and his wife Jennifer both have friendly and affable personalities.  They were easy to photograph and made my job enjoyable. Rocco arrived at the golf links with his wife and a cigar in hand. He offered to set his cigar down, but I thought it was a perfect way to naturally add some of his personality to the portrait.

Rocco and Jessica Mediate. ©2015 Ken Doo Photography.

Rocco and Jessica Mediate. ©2015 Ken Doo Photography.

For more information on medium format digital photography, contact me at my boutique portrait photography studio in Carmel. Ken  (831) 626-1844

Leave a Reply

