Metallic Fine Art Paper Added to Giclee Printing Media Selections

Creating a custom icc printer profile for Sugar Cane Fine Art Paper in my boutique studio in Carmel, CA

I have been printing my own portraits and landscapes for several years in my boutique studio in Carmel, CA.  Printing in-house increased efficiency and quality control of products offered by my studio.  It allows me to offer my clients a higher quality product and a greater range of the finest archival fine art papers, canvas, and substrates available.  The studio also provides high resolution photographic copywork for artists and produces giclee prints, or fine art reproductions, for artists on a variety of archival papers and canvas.  Photographic copy work is done with digital medium format, using a Phase 645DF and Phase One P65+ medium format digital back.  The P65+ is currently the highest resolution full frame medium format digital back with 60.5 megapixels, and produces approximately 350 megabyte 16 bit TIFF digital files.  Archival printing is with pigmented inks and on select fine art substrates up to 44 -inches in width.  Custom icc printer profiles are generated by me in studio, including expanded custom profiles with custom grays to insure better shadow detail and exceptional black and white images.

Beginning this month, Ken Doo Photography in Carmel, CA is adding a new metallic paper to its growing selection of fine art media.  The new metallic media shares similarities with Kodak’s Endura Metallic paper but I am now able to print in studio beyond Kodak’s 30-inch width limitation, up to the maximum of my printer’s 44-inch capabilities!  The metallic fine art paper is a smooth shiny surface with exceptional gloss and depth.  The new metallic media looks great with both color and black and white images, and I am looking forward to using this new fine art paper for both my portrait and wedding clients.  I will be adding a special infra-red converted camera to the studio soon, and anticipate that black and white infra-red portraits will look exceptional on this new metallic fine art paper, particularly for my wedding clients and engagement portrait sessions.

Visit the studio to see samples of this new metallic media and other available fine art papers and canvas!  Other fine art medias available include Baryta photographic papers, Sugar Cane, Bamboo, Cotton Elegance Velvet, and Lyve Canvas.  Printing in studio gives me confidence that I am providing my portrait, wedding, and commercial clients the highest quality products, and consequently, I limit the media substrates that I offer as the finest fine art papers and museum gallery-wrapped canvas that I believe are currently available. 

Photographic copy work using Digital Medium Fomat for artists is available in studio and on location.   Call or visit the studio regarding giclee fine art printing and reproduction for artists.

For more information contact the studio at (831) 626-1844.   kmd

2 Responses to “Metallic Fine Art Paper Added to Giclee Printing Media Selections”

  1. Fabian Corich Says:

    You mentioned the metallic paper you carry. What brand is it? Is it really metallic?

    • The media does share similar qualities to Kodak Professional’s Endura Metallic, but with a softer, pearlescent metallic quality. At this time I have a 24″ width roll in stock and will have a 10″ width roll on order and expect it to be in stock in about a week. I plan to add a 44″ width roll soon, which will allow me to offer a broad range of media to fulfill the needs of my clients.

Leave a Reply

